Asia Ophthalmology
Eye drugs: from dry eye and glaucoma to retinal disease.
8Tracked assets
5Approved
How this track works
Ophthalmology covers the front of the eye (dry eye, glaucoma, myopia) and the back (wet age-related macular degeneration, diabetic macular oedema and inherited retinal disease). Eye drops and injections into the eye act locally, so trials can be smaller than in other fields, and Japan has produced several first-in-class glaucoma drugs. China's conbercept was one of the first locally developed anti-VEGF eye injections, and Korean and Chinese companies now license eye drugs to partners abroad.
Development stage
Approved5 5
Phase 31 1
Phase 22 2
Origin country / region
Japan5 5
China2 2
South Korea1 1
Assets
| Rank | Asset | INN | Originator | Country | Targets | Mechanism | Highest stage | Indication | Trial IDs | Overseas rights holder | Deal date | Upfront | Total ceiling | Latest event | Latest event date | Sources | Source date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rebamipide ophthalmic (OPC-12759; Mucosta) | rebamipide | Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. | Japan | Ocular-surface mucin production (functional pathway; direct receptor Not disclosed) | Mucin-production promoting ophthalmic suspension | Approved — Japan (2011-09) | Dry eye disease | NCT01660256 | None reported | — | — | — | Confirmatory ophthalmic-solution study registry updated; completed | 2021-05-05 | 1 2 3 | 2021-05-05 |
| 2 | Conbercept (KH902; Lumitin / Langmu) | conbercept | Chengdu Kanghong Biotech Co., Ltd. (Kanghong Pharmaceutical Group) | China | VEGF-A; VEGF-B; PlGF | VEGF-receptor / Fc fusion-protein ligand trap | Approved — China (2013-11) | Neovascular AMD; myopic CNV; diabetic macular edema; retinal vein occlusion-associated macular edema | NCT03223714 | None reported | — | — | — | 2026 interim report confirms marketed conbercept and Phase 3 development of high-dose KH902-R10 | 2026-08-26 | 1 2 3 4 5 | 2026-08-26 |
| 3 | Ripasudil (K-115; Glanatec) | ripasudil | D. Western Therapeutics Institute, Inc. | Japan | Rho-associated protein kinase (ROCK) | ROCK inhibitor that promotes trabecular outflow | Approved — Japan (2014-09) | Glaucoma and ocular hypertension; Fuchs endothelial corneal dystrophy (K-321, investigational) | NCT06048380 | Kowa (worldwide rights including Japan) | 2002-09 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Company pipeline lists worldwide ripasudil licence and investigational FECD development | Not disclosed | 1 2 3 | Not disclosed |
| 4 | Omidenepag isopropyl (DE-117; Eybelis / Omlonti) | omidenepag isopropyl | UBE Corporation (formerly Ube Industries, Ltd.) | Japan | Prostaglandin EP2 receptor | Selective EP2 receptor agonist; promotes aqueous humor outflow | Approved — US (2022-09) | Primary open-angle glaucoma and ocular hypertension | NCT05279716 | Santen (worldwide development, manufacturing and commercialization rights) | 2011-10-14 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Santen and UBE announced FDA approval dated 2022-09-22 | 2022-09-26 | 1 2 3 | 2022-09-26 |
| 5 | Sepetaprost (ONO-9054 / DE-126 / STN1012600; Setaneo) | sepetaprost | Ono Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. | Japan | Prostaglandin FP and EP3 receptors | Dual FP / EP3 receptor agonist prodrug | Approved — Japan (2025-08) | Glaucoma and ocular hypertension | jRCT2031220267 | Santen (exclusive worldwide rights) | 2016-03-30 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Setaneo launched in Japan after August approval | 2025-10-23 | 1 2 3 4 | 2025-10-23 |
| 6 | Tanfanercept (HL036) | tanfanercept | HanAll Biopharma Co., Ltd. (with Daewoong Pharmaceutical) | South Korea | Tumor necrosis factor (TNF) | Engineered soluble TNFR1 fragment that binds TNF | Phase 3 — US (2019-03); VELOS-4 registry suspended (updated 2024-05), company reports ongoing (2026-01) | Dry eye disease (investigational) | NCT03846453 | NCT06400589 | Harbour BioMed (Greater China; portfolio licence includes HL161 and HL036) | 2017-09-12 | Not disclosed (asset-specific) | Up to USD 81m (HL161 + HL036 portfolio; not allocated) | Company reported VELOS-4 ongoing; registry retains older suspended status due to logistical issue | 2026-01-21 | 1 2 3 4 5 6 | 2026-01-21 |
| 7 | H-1337 | Not disclosed | D. Western Therapeutics Institute, Inc. | Japan | Multiple protein kinases (specific target list Not disclosed) | Small-molecule multi-kinase inhibitor ophthalmic solution | Phase 2 — US (2023-08; Phase 2b completed) | Glaucoma and ocular hypertension (investigational) | NCT05913232 | None reported | — | — | — | Company pipeline confirms completed US Phase 2b and preparation for Phase 3 | Not disclosed | 1 2 3 | Not disclosed |
| 8 | KH631 | Not disclosed | Chengdu Origen Biotechnology Co., Ltd. (Kanghong) | China | VEGF pathway (anti-angiogenic gene therapy) | AAV-delivered anti-angiogenic gene therapy | Phase 2 — China (confirmed 2026-08); Phase 1 — US | Neovascular AMD (clinical); diabetic macular edema (China clinical trial permission, not a phase claim) | NCT05672121 | NCT05657301 | None reported | — | — | — | 2026 interim report lists China Phase 2 and US Phase 1 for nAMD | 2026-08-26 | 1 2 3 4 | 2026-08-26 |